Claire Kilroy


Claire Kilroy is the author of five novels, All Summer, (Faber, 2003), Tenderwire, (Faber, 2006), All Names Have Been Changed, (Faber, 2009), and The Devil I Know (Faber, 2012). In 2023, after an eleven year silence, her fifth novel, Soldier Sailor, about the early years of motherhood, was published to universal acclaim.  It was named a Best Book of 2023 by The Sunday Times, The Irish Times, The Guardian, The Financial Times, The Telegraph, The New Statesman, The Economist, The Irish Examiner, The Journal, The Irish Independent and The Independent. The Times selected it as the Times Novel of The Year.  Kilroy won the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature in 2004 and has been shortlisted many times for the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year and the Irish Novel of the Year.  She studied at Trinity College and lives in Dublin.

‘An astonishing high-wire act… a precision guided-missile.’ The Observer

‘Prose of mesmerising vitality.’ The Financial Times

‘Comes at you full-throttle, as if delivered on a single breath.’ The Guardian

‘Profound…. A stylistic whirlwind that left me breathless.’  The Independent

‘A sublime black comedy.’ The Times

‘There is no arguing with tears.’ The Scotsman

‘A book to bond with.’ The Irish Times